Participatory culture foundation

PCF mission

Our mission is tied to the structure of our organization

We develop technology and services that ensure everyone has access to all that the Internet has to offer. From the abundance of free education available, to gaining insights about the many different cultures around the globe, information is critical to building a more equitable and peaceful society. 

Our Impact

Amplifying Voices and Amara have enabled the creation of subtitles by volunteers and professional linguists, from 107 countries, for a broad scope of video content into over 100 languages. To date, over one million subtitles have been completed.

Globe Icon
107
Countries
Message Icon
100+
Languages
Subtitle Icon
1,000,000+
Subtitles

Our Unique Approach

Our org chart represented by a honeycomb captures this unique approach, where everyone is a critical component of making the structure strong. We work together toward a common goal, in an environment where every individual can thrive, grow, learn, and share their ideas.

Our Team

Meet the talented, passionate, and fun-loving individuals who deliver innovative technologies and services that serve millions. We are an international and multicultural team! 

Ana-Maria Lupu image

Ana-Maria Lupu (she/her)

Customer Success Specialist

ana-maria@amara.org

Bucharest, Romania

Hiker, blogger, adventurer

Edna Odongo image

Edna Odongo (she/her)

Customer Success Specialist

edna@amara.org

Nairobi, Kenya

Foodie, fitness fanatic, and wine guzzler

Erin O'Driscoll image

Erin O'Driscoll (she/her)

Customer Success and Tech Support Specialist

erin@amara.org

Nerja, Spain

Archaeologist, sunbather, karaoke singer

Liane Riscu image

Liane Riscu (she/her)

Customer Success Specialist

liane@amara.org

Somewhere in Europe

LEGO geek, book nerd, space explorer

Mirjam Sonnleithner image

Mirjam Sonnleithner (she/her)

Customer Success Specialist

mirjam@amara.org

San Francisco, CA, USA

Life long learner, nature lover

Jenny Lam-Chowdhury image

Jenny Lam-Chowdhury (she/her)

Operations Manager

jenny@amara.org

New York, NY, USA

Food explorer, culinary translator

Marília Correia image

Marília Correia (she/her)

Assistant Operations Manager

marilia@amara.org

Recife, Brazil

Traveler, translator, soccer fan

Fran Ontanaya image

Fran Ontanaya (he/him)

Senior Technical Operations Manager

fran@amara.org

Torrent, Spain

Sci-fi fan, computer geek

Joanna Lam image

Joanna Lam (she/her)

Senior Project Manager

joanna@amara.org

Buenos Aires, Argentina

Baker, student mode

Thais M. Barros image

Thais M. Barros (she/her)

Senior Project Manager

thais@amara.org

São Paulo, Brazil

Dogs, plants and food enthusiast

Sebastião Nascimento image

Sebastião Nascimento (he/him)

Senior Project Manager

sebastiao@amara.org

Curitiba, Brazil

History, music, and literature lover

Melanie Dychinco-Ty image

Melanie Dychinco-Ty (she/her)

Senior Project Manager

melanie@amara.org

Quezon City, Philippines

Artist, researcher, musician, and bowler

Natalia Savvidi image

Natalia Savvidi (she/her)

Senior Project Manager

natalia@amara.org

Athens, Greece

Physicist, programmer, translator, hiker

Viviane M. image

Viviane M. (she/her)

Senior Project Manager, Key Accounts

viviane@amara.org

Vacaville, CA, USA

Amateur chef, chocolate and photography enthusiast

Liane Riscu image

Liane Riscu (she/her)

Communications Dragon

liane@amara.org

Somewhere in Europe

LEGO geek, book nerd, space explorer

Allison Buford Moon image

Allison Buford Moon (they/them)

Marketing Associate

allison@amara.org

Clemson, SC, USA

Writer, designer, plant parent

Thais M. Barros image

Thais M. Barros (she/her)

Marketing Associate

thais@amara.org

São Paulo, Brazil

Dogs, plants and food enthusiast

Sam Slottow image

Sam Slottow (they/he)

Marketing Associate

sam@amara.org

Baltimore, MD, USA

Actor, musician, coffee scientist

Rieann Brown image

Rieann Brown (she/her)

Tech Support Project Manager, Key Accounts

rieann@amara.org

PNW, USA

Star gazer, mycologist, dreamer

Erin O'Driscoll image

Erin O'Driscoll (she/her)

Customer Success and Tech Support Specialist

erin@amara.org

Nerja, Spain

Archaeologist, sunbather, karaoke singer

Allison Buford Moon image

Allison Buford Moon (they/them)

Product Specialist

allison@amara.org

Clemson, SC, USA

Writer, designer, plant parent

Ronald Osure image

Ronald Osure (he/him)

Lead Software Engineer

ronald@pculture.org

Nairobi, Kenya

Cyclist, minimalist, astro nerd

Dan Reyes image

Dan Reyes (he/him)

Software Engineer

dan@pculture.org

Metro Manila, Philippines

Pet parent, Boba tea lover

Margarita Shamraeva image

Margarita Shamraeva (she/her)

Quality Assurance Manager

mshamraeva@pculture.org

Vancouver, Canada

Technology fan, language learner, table tennis player

Laura Morgantini image

Laura Morgantini (she/her)

Lead Product and Delivery Manager

laura@pculture.org

Qualicum Beach, Canada

Sports and outdoor enthusiast

Robert P. image

Robert P. (he/him)

Amara Product and UX Designer

robert@pculture.org

Canary Islands, Spain

Dreamer & Maker

Kathy Torres image

Kathy Torres (she/her)

Finance and Human Resources

kathy@pculture.org

Aldie, VA, USA

Puzzler, soccer and swimming fan, tech-aficionado

Rieann Brown image

Rieann Brown (she/her)

Finance

rieann@amara.org

PNW, USA

Star gazer, mycologist, dreamer

Viviane M. image

Viviane M. (she/her)

Finance

viviane@amara.org

Vacaville, CA, USA

Amateur chef, chocolate and photography enthusiast

Sam Slottow image

Sam Slottow (they/he)

Recruiting Manager, Team Support

sam@amara.org

Baltimore, MD, USA

Actor, musician, coffee scientist

Aleli Alcala image

Aleli Alcala (she/they)

Chief Operations and Sustainability Officer

aleli@pculture.org

Ann Arbor, MI, USA

Sports fan, nature lover, walker of Kaia (the dog!)

Dean Jansen image

Dean Jansen (he/him)

Executive Director and CEO

dean@pculture.org

Albuquerque, NM, USA

Roller skater, cook, grower of stuff

Participatory Culture Foundation

Board of Directors

  • Dave Glassco, President
  • Tiffiniy Cheng, Secretary
  • Dean Jansen, Treasurer
  • Aleli Alcala
  • Stefan Magdlinski
  • Nicholas Reville

Founders

  • Tiffiniy Cheng
  • Nicholas Nassar
  • Nicholas Reville
  • Holmes Wilson

Major Funders

  • European Commission
  • Knight Foundation
  • MacArthur Foundation
  • Mellon Foundation
  • Mitch Kapor Foundation
  • Mozilla
  • Rappaport Family Foundation
  • Surdna Foundation
  • William Penn Foundation
  • Opencast
  • Open Society Institute
  • Ashoka
  • Corporation for Public Broadcasting
  • ...and many, many individual users